Leadership


Klaas P. Baks

Director, Professor in the Practice of Finance
404.727.4752
klaas.baks@emory.edu

Klaas P. Baks PhD, is the Director of the Emory Center for Alternative Investments and a Professor in the Practice of Finance at Emory University’s Goizueta Business School. The Emory Center for Alternative Investments is a global leader in the alternative investments industry with an advisory board consisting of ten CEOs and/or CIOs of large institutional investment firms with combined assets under management in excess of one trillion dollars. His research and teaching focuses on issues in alternative investments, entrepreneurial finance and investment management, and he has published papers in a number of academic and business journals. He teaches at the undergraduate, graduate and executive level.

Prior to joining Emory University, Baks held positions at Fuji Bank in Tokyo, Japan, Deutsche Bank in Hong Kong and the International Monetary Fund in Washington DC.

A doctoral graduate of the Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania in finance, Baks also holds a M.A. degree in economics from Brown University, a master’s degree (cum laude) in econometrics from Groningen University, The Netherlands and a diploma in Japanese language and business studies from Leiden University, The Netherlands. As part of his doctoral studies he spent two years at Harvard University.

benveniste

Lawrence M. Benveniste 

Faculty Advisor, Asa Griggs Candler Professor of Finance
404.727.6377
lawrence.benveniste@emory.edu

Lawrence M. Benveniste PhD, is former dean of Emory University’s Goizueta Business School. He also holds the academic position of the Asa Griggs Candler Professor of Finance.Prior to his current role, Benveniste served as Dean of the Carlson School of Management at the University of Minnesota. He rose to the rank of dean from his faculty position as the U.S. Bancorp Professor of Finance. He also served on the faculties of Boston College, Northwestern University, the University of Pennsylvania and the University of Rochester.

Benveniste worked as a staff economist for the Board of Governors to the Federal Reserve System in Washington, D.C., where he helped to develop several significant regulatory initiatives, including risk-based capital, which monitors the equity value of commercial banks to protect the deposit insurance system.

He is on the Board of Directors of Alliance Data Systems and Rimage Corporation.

Black

Roy Black

Director Real Estate Program, Professor in the Practice of Finance
404.727.9422
rblack2@emory.edu

Roy T. Black PhD, who has taught part-time at Goizueta since 1999, joined the Goizueta faculty full-time in Summer 2007 to spearhead the Real Estate program. During his tenure at Goizueta, Black has seen his typical class size of 30 students and his load of one or two courses a year swell to the establishment of a program. He has a J.D. from Woodrow Wilson College of Law, an M.S. in Real Estate from Georgia State University, and a Ph.D. in Business Administration from the University of Georgia. Prior to entering academia, he spent 15 years as a real estate attorney.

green

T. Clifton Green

Faculty Advisor, Associate Professor of Finance
404.727.5167
clifton.green@emory.edu

Clifton Green joined Goizueta Business School in 1999 after completing his PhD at NYU where he taught 1998-1999. His research interests include investments and market microstructure, with an emphasis on behavioral finance. Clifton’s research has been featured in the Wall Street Journal, Barrons, Financial Times, and on CNBC television.

At Goizueta, Clifton serves as the Finance PhD Coordinator and teaches the core Corporate Finance class in the BBA program and Behavioral Finance in the PhD program. He has also taught Security Analysis and Portfolio Management in the MBA program.

Affiliated Faculty


crowley

furman

Mark Bell  

Managing Principal
Diversified Trust
Bio

Kevin Crowley

Adjunct Lecturer of Finance
Goizueta Business School
Bio

Kathryn Furman

Partner
King & Spalding
Bio

grayken

kraeussl

panton

John Grayken

Chairman
Lone Star Funds
Bio

Roman Kraussl

Associate Professor
University of Luxembourg
Bio

David Panton

Chairman & Founder
Panton Capital Holdings
Bio

Program Managers


plateknick

shahsafee

Nicholas A. Platek 

Program Manager
MBA Class of 2016
nicholas.platek@emory.edu

Safee Shah

Program Manager
MBA Class of 2016
safee.shah@emory.edu

Fellows


browntully

butler

clementslane

dib

Tully Brown, CPA, CFA

CAI Fellow
MBA Class of 2016
tully.brown@emory.edu

Charles J. Butler 

CAI Fellow
MBA Class of 2016
charles.j.butler@emory.edu

Lane Clements

CAI Fellow
MBA Class of 2017
lane.clements@emory.edu

Juan Rafael Dib

CAI Fellow
MBA Class of 2016
juan.r.dib@emory.edu

dunnadam

gravettryan

Adam Hugh Dunn 

CAI Fellow
MBA Class of 2017
adam.dunn@emory.edu

Ryan Gravett

CAI Fellow
MBA Class of 2017
ryan.gravett@emory.edu

Team


atlurisuresh

deweymark

keegandum

fountainjim

Suresh Atluri 

MBA Class of 2016
suresh.atluri@emory.edu

Mark Emerson Dewey 

MBA Class of 2016
mark.dewey@emory.edu

Keegan Matthew Dum

MBA Class of 2016
keegan.dum@emory.edu

Jim Fountain

MBA Class of 2016
james.fountain@emory.edu

guchunchun

harbert

pengjiao

plummerbailey

Chunchun Gu

BBA Class of 2016
cgu4@emory.edu

John Harbert 

MBA Class of 2016
john.harbert@emory.edu

Jiao Peng 

BBA Class of 2016
jpeng7@emory.edu

Bailey Willingham Plummer  

BBA Class of 2016
bailey.plummer@emory.edu

seidlerjason

shansuxi

ChoiSarah

ParikhNihar

Jason Reed Seidler  

BBA Class of 2016
jseidle@emory.edu

Suxi Shan 

BBA Class of 2016
suxi.shan@emory.edu

Sarah Choi 

Director, External Relations
BBA Class of 2016
sarah.choi@emory.edu

Nihar Parikh

Associate, External Relations
BBA Class of 2017
nihar.parikh@emory.edu

SoodShikhar

SuitaWill

Shikhar Sood  

Associate, External Relations
BBA Class of 2017
shikhar.sood@emory.edu

Will Siuta 

Associate, External Relations
BBA Class of 2018
will.siuta@emory.edu